The Bournemouth and District Women’s Bowling Association was founded in !933, this year is our 90th anniversary.  The inaugral clubs included Bournemouth, Moordown, Southbourne, New Milton and Alum Chine.

The first leagues and competitions were played in the summer of 1933, with Southbourne  the winners of the first league trophy.  A singles and a pairs competitions were won by

Mrs Barnsley Bournemouth BC and Mrs Miell and Mrs Woodcock  Southbourne BC respectively.

The number of leagues gradually increased and today there are 43 teams playing in three rinks leagues and two triples leagues.  They play on a Thursday afternoon throughout  the season, except for the Club Championship week and the Bournemouth Open week.   There are a total of twenty five clubs affiliated to the association with twenty three clubs playing in the leagues.

Clubs of the Association stretch from Fordingbridge BC in the North to Swanage BC in the south and from Lymington BC in the east to Blandford BC in the west.  Originally the majority of the clubs were in Hampshire but with Government County boundary changes in 1974 Bournemouth became part of Dorset County, Christchurch and Highcliffe also became part of Dorset. The Bournemouth clubs who played in Hampshire opted to continue playing in Hampshire., causing an anomaly. With only Blandford, Branksome Park, Broadstone Wessex, Ferndown, Poole Park, Verwood and Wimborne playing in Dorset County competitions and leagues.

The first  elected President of the association was Mrs Dawes from Bournemouth BC, a list of past Presidents >> see past presidents.

There are twenty five clubs registered with the B&DWBA >> see the 25 clubs